Department of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1960 and Prof. R. P. Jeerath was the founder Head of the Department. After Prof. Jeerath, in 1975, The Department was guided by Prof. Ram Murthi, followed by Prof. Shakti Rais Ahmad, Prof. A. K. Choudhry, Prof. A. R. Shah, Prof A. S. Bali, Prof. Siraj Ahmad, Prof. S. A. Shah, Prof. Tabassum Ara, Prof. J. A. Banday and Prof. Kowsar Kowsar Majid. Presently, it is being run under the headship of Prof. Hamida-Tun-Nisa Chisti. Twenty two Ph.Ds and seven M.Phils have been produced by the Department for the last ten years. The faculty members of the Department have published many scientific papers and reviews in National and International journals of repute. Research, in the areas of Physical, Organic, Inorganic, Environmental chemistry, Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Nanomaterials, Biofuels and Electrochemistry are being carried out in the Department.



Faculty Member

Email Id

Prof. Kowsar Majid

Prof. Tabassum Ara

 Dr. S. A. Shah

Dr. J. A. Banday

Dr. Hamida-Tun-Nisa Chisti

Dr. Mohammad Aslam

Dr. Shrikant Maktedar

Dr. Ravi Kumar

Dr. Jignesh V. Rohit

Dr. Malik Abdul Wahid

Dr. Saifullah Lone

©2020 WebDeveloper NIT Srinagar- All Rights Reserved  |  Last modified: 30-May-2024