Historical Background

The National Institute of Technology (NIT) Srinagar, (erstwhile Regional Engineering College), was established in July, 1960, by the joint venture of Govt. of India and the State Government during the 2nd plan period. It was one among the first batch of 8 such Institutes which  were set up in the country. The other seven Institutes were Allahabad, Bhopal, Durgapur, Jamshedpur, Nagpur, Surathkal, and Warangal.The Institute initially started functioning in the historical Chinar garden of Naseem Bagh at Hazratbal, Srinagar, adjacent to the campus of University of Kashmir on the North side which is about 1.5 kilometres away from the present Campus which was acquired for the Institute simultaneously and work of construction started. The Institute started  shifting   to the present campus in 1966.

In 2003 the Institute was declared as National Institute of Technology with Deemed University Status by the Ministry of Ministry of Education(Shiksha Mantralaya), Govt. of India and University Grants Commission (UGC). Even going through  the difficult times in the valley since 90’s, the Institute has proved its mettle through its output at various levels and has become a prestigious Institute of the region. The Institute also suffered a huge infrastructural loss due to 2014 floods and is presently trying to overcome it.

© 2020 Developer NIT Srinagar - All Rights Reserved  |  Last modified: 03-Sep-2020